My Swing Dancing Skirt Part B


Good morning! I have a full plate of gardening, house work and babysitting for today, but I wanted to get Part B up soon for this skirt!

Now that everything is cut out, it’s time to sew! Begin by stay stitching the waist just inside the seam line. Press the stitching when finished. It will kinda ‘melt’ the stitches and make it lay nicer.

Image

Next, with right sides of the fabric together, aline the selvedge edges together. Lay your zipper on the seam and measure it’s length. Mark this with a notch.

Image

Image

Using a large basting stitch, begin sewing from the top edge down to your notch. When you reach the notch, switch to a smaller stitch length, secure it with a few back stitches and sew the rest of the seam. Press open.Image

Image

Insert the zipper. I’m doing a simple slot zipper, but just follow the directions on whatever type you picked out.

I always hand baste my zippers in place before sewing, as I find pins really get in the way, and never hold the zipper well. So, grab your thimble, contrasting color thread, and beeswax. Lay your zipper in place, and using large stitches, baste it down. Then, using your zipper foot, machine stitch it in place.

Image

Image

Remove the hand basting stitches, and pick out the seam over the zipper. Press everything.

Image

Image

Now, take the waist band, lay your interfacing against the wrong side, and baste down what will be the front edge of the finished waist band. Press. Fold the band in half lengthwise and press again. Using the fold marking as a guide, stitch 1/8th of and inch to the BACK side of the waist band. Press.
Image

With right sides facing, pin the waistband to the skirt, being sure to leave the overhand for the button hole, well, over hanging! Stitch.

Image

Image

Trim the skirt allowance down to the stay stitching. Press the remaining seam up. Fold the waist band over and sew. I sew them down by hand as I think it provides a neater finish. Press again.

Image

Image

You’re almost finished! Now press your seam. I pressed up 1/4″ then 1″, using plenty of pins to spread the fullness out. I machined stitched this hem, but if I were to do it again, I would sew it by hand as the machine stitching seemed a bit bulky. So do as you wish.

Image

Final step is to put in your button hole, and attach your button. But I forgot to take pictures of these steps!
Viola, you have a cute, retro swing skirt! And this is sooo easy to sew. With stopping for pictures I still finished it in under 2 hours.

I will attempt to get pictures of the skirt in action shortly.

3 thoughts on “My Swing Dancing Skirt Part B

    • It makes me so happy just to look at the fabric! Next time I wear it, I’ll have my sister take a picture.

Leave a Reply

